Our Different Types of Donuts
We get a lot of questions at the shop about what the difference is between all of our donut types, so we wanted to share a little more with you about that here! The primary difference between our our yeast-raised, old-fashioned, vegan, and gluten-less donuts are in the ingredients used and the base texture of the final product. While they're all delicious, each one requires a special mix of ingredients and process to achieve the desired result - to be super tasty and still work within the dietary needs of certain individuals.
Traditional Yeast-Raised Donuts
A yeast-raised donut is the most common type of donut, made with flour, butter, milk, eggs, sugar, salt and yeast. Our brioche recipe adds extra eggs and butter to make sure it comes out puffy, light and buttery, with just the right amount of chew. The dough itself has minimal sweetness until we apply some sort of frosting, glaze or sugar coating, and is equally well-suited for savory donut flavors. After mixing the ingredients, the dough rises through the yeast-fermentation process which creates lots of tiny air bubbles.
Old-Fashioned or Cake Donuts
An old-fashioned donut uses many of the same ingredients but instead of yeast, it gets its lift from leavening agents like baking powder and baking soda. A perfect old-fashioned donut has a moist and crumbly texture inside like cake, and a little bit of a crunch to its cracked outside. An advantage to this type of donuts is that the dough can be flavored fairly easily by adding in extracts, fruits or cocoa powder, whereas yeast-raised donuts typically get their flavor from the glaze or toppings.
Our vegan yeast-raised donuts contain no dairy or animal products of any kind, and are instead made with all plant-based ingredients like coconut milk and vegetable oil. These are similar in texture to our regular yeast-raised donuts, and are a good alternative for anyone wanting to avoid dairy, or someone looking for a cruelty-free, animal-free option. (We also offer non-dairy milk substitutes like Oat milk, Coconut milk and Soy milk for all of our beverages.)
Our gluten-less donuts are made in a style similar to the old-fashioneds, but instead of making them with regular wheat flour, these are made with a rice flour which does not contain gluten. They are great for someone who wants to cut out wheat from their diet, which can sometimes cause inflammation and gastrointestinal issues. Our Gluten-less donuts are not necessarily recommended for those who are Celiac and have a serious allergy to gluten, as there could potentially be inadvertent cross-contamination or cross-contact within our restaurant.
Which Donut Type is Your Favorite?
Whether it's because of dietary reasons, or you just prefer one flavor profile over the other, I think we can all agree that you can't go wrong with a donut at CRAFT! Let us know what kind of donut is your favorite in the comments. :)